Antigone Artist Statement

I decided to make a family tree and write a poem because this was the way I felt I could best describe the play Antigone to others and what I got from it. I am doing it by just going with what I feel. I first started on the poem and thought of the best way to describe each character than I did the family tree just for a little extra fun to be able to see a large amount of the Antigone family that you didn’t know about. What influenced my work was my wanting to know about the other pieces of the whole family and really where it all started from to see if some past family might have been any type of influence into the Antigone’s family in the play.What influenced the writing of the poem was to find a way to describe each character in a different way other than just writing an essay on them. One thing I want people to know is that I am not an artistically talented person I don’t just get inspiration I either write something because it feels right at that moment or I think on it for no more then a few minutes I just do what comes to mind. My art relates to Antigone because it shows her life where it started generations before her and my poem is a way to describe each character.

One thought on “Antigone Artist Statement

  1. I liked what you said what influenced you to writing the poem “was to find a way to describe each character in a different way other than just writing an essay on them.” Because I do think that writing a poem would be a lot better than writing a boring essay about Antigone. Also I think the family tree was really creative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

